Nerd Guru 2.0 Goes Live!

After about a week and a half of template editing, data migration, plugin installation, and DNS manipulation, I’m happy to announce a brand new platform and look for http://nerdguru.net! Come take a look when you get a chance. The new WordPress rendered UI includes:

  • A new and improved subscription widget that incorporates my current subscription count in a different way and brings email subscribing one step closer to the user
  • A front page the now has snippets of multiple articles instead of just a single one
  • Highlighting the other places that have been generous enough to run my content
  • Easier navigation between individual posts and improved grouping of archives
  • A view of my Twitter feed

My hope is that this improved UI helps my conversion rate of visitors to subscribers, but I’d love to hear what you think about it as well. I’m still fixing a few links for “General Stuff” posts, but am otherwise through the transition pretty smoothly.

As always, don’t be afraid to tell a friend. My goal with this site is to help people learn from my failures and successes to have better careers. The more the merrier!

Special thanks to Jason Alba, Tac Anderson, and Nilay Soneji for their guidance, coaxing, bullying and other support along the way. I’ve got a new article queued up for tomorrow (Tuesday, April 1) on a key to asking for help from others, so be on the look out for it.

3 Responses to “Nerd Guru 2.0 Goes Live!”

  1. Jason Alba Says:

    Glad to see the progress, Pete!

  2. Tac Anderson Says:

    Any time I have an opportunity to provide some bullying it’s my pleasure 🙂

  3. Wendee Lee Says:

    Hey Pete, looks fantastic! I’ve been thinking about making a switch, myself.. This could be the nudge I need …

Leave a Reply

