Rosie and Pete’s Excellent Twitter Adventure

Forgive the intrusion, as this goes a bit off topic.

Sort of.

If you’ve been reading this space for awhile or know me personally, you may know that I’ve been a bit of a gypsy the last few years. OK if you really know me “last few” may be generous, but from 2002-2006 we lived in Riverside, CA near tons of family. After 8 years as a teleworker, the rules changed on me in HP IT and I took a relocation package to Vancouver, WA in April of 2006. While the greater suburban Portland area is quite beautiful, it didn’t work out for us mostly because we missed being around family.

After we left SoCal, other family came to suburban Cincinnati. We’ve spent the last year there and loved spending time with the family with us, but found we really missed California. Sooooo, now that Kindergarten is over I drop off my wife and daughter at the airport Thursday and make a 3 day drive to Rancho Cucamonga, CA with my dog Rosie starting Friday.

Nerd Guru topic-wise, it is a lesson in reading the currents of corporate policy while balancing personal needs. I wish we’d never left California in the first place, but given the circumstances I’m not sure we had much of a choice. I certainly learned a lot from the experience and am thankful that I was able to achieve enough work-wise since we left that my management can justify a return.

Off topic-wise, being a veteran of such long car adventures (especially solo, as Rosie isn’t expected to say much) I know your mind starts to wander as you pass another 40 miles of corn fields across Kansas, so I thought it might make for an interesting experiment to log my journey 21st century style: Twitter.

This experiment may crash terribly, like my Blogaversary contest did, or it could end up being cool. We’ll see. Tell a friend, maybe it’ll become a phenomenon!

Here’s how it’ll go:

  • As I make various rest stops, assuming I get cel phone reception, I’ll log a few tweets along the way with whatever weird observations come my way. I vow not to do this while driving so as to avoid divorce proceedings.
  • You can follow my progress using Twitter natively or an RSS feed of my tweets.
  • Got comments or questions along the way? @reply me through Twitter and I’ll see what I can do.

My rough itinerary is as follows:

Thursday, June 5

  • Drop off my wife and daughter in Indianapolis for their flight to LA (the tickets were a lot cheaper making the 2 hour drive and flying out of there instead of CVG).
  • Perform final apartment clean, pack up my 1997 Explorer, and ship the final boxes that don’t fit.
  • Play Mariokart Wii until I fall asleep.

Friday, June 6

Saturday, June 7

  • Depart Oklahoma City, OK when Grandma lets me
  • Follow this route to Flagstaff, AZ
  • Stay the night at the cheapest place I can find that has both Internet access and accepts pets

Sunday, June 8

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

