Something sad, something funny

In case you didn’t catch it, Randy Pausch died on Friday.  I will always be amazed that someone facing such a horrible truth could be so positive about it and inspire millions in the process.  I can’t imagine what his family is going through now, but they certainly have a lot to remember him by.  If you haven’t read his book or watched the video of his lecture, you need to find time to do it.   “The walls are there for other people.”

On a much lighter note, my friend Liz Handlin ran a piece last Thursday enlightening those of us that are Digg challenged to a hilarious post over at JobMob entitled “150 Funniest Resume Mistakes, Bloopers, and Blunders Ever“.  Aside from invoking my favorite Homer Simpson image (“insert brain here”), it brought some humor to what was a tough Friday for me.  I found these particularly funny:

  • “Finished eighth in my class of ten.”
  • “I am loyal to my employer at all costs..Please feel free to respond to my resume on my office voice mail.”
  • Why Interested in Position: “to keep my parole officer from putting back me in jail”
  • Work experience: “Two years as a blackjack and baccarat dealer. Strong emphasis on customer relations – a constant challenge considering how much money people lose and how angry they can get.”
  • “Skills: Strong Work Ethic, Attention to Detail, Team Player, Self Motivated, Attention to Detail”
  • Reason for leaving last job: “Bounty hunting was outlawed in my state.”

It’s a great list that the folks over there took a lot of time to assemble, take a look.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Something sad, something funny”

  1. Liz Handlin Says:

    Pete

    I was really sad to see that Randy Pausch died too..he was an amazing person. Thanks for linking to my blog. I laughed so hard when I read some of those resume mistakes that I was crying. Too funny.

    Liz

Leave a comment