Quote of the Month: My Dad

A big part of the job description for a dad is to dish out advice.  Throughout my life, I’ve tended to put a lot of pressure on myself.  It’s just the way I am.

To combat this, my favorie piece of advice my Dad has ever given me is:

“Whether you succeed or fail, there are a billion people in China who don’t care either way.”

While the origins of this statement predate globalization (Dad had no way of knowing when I was 10 years old that maybe some day a few folks in China might actually care since they were working on the same project as me), the fundamentals of the quote ring true.  The sun will rise again tomorrow no matter what happens, so it doesn’t hurt to not take things so seriously all the time.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Quote of the Month: My Dad”

  1. Quote of the day « Authsider Says:

    […] (via) […]

  2. Luis C García Says:

    Kinda similar self-inflicted lesson: The worlds spins around with or without one self. Just tying to point out how bad can control freakness be

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

